College Football Playoff selection committee adds two new members

Former Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer and current Robert Morris President Chris Howard are the two newest members of the College Football Playoff selection committee, Executive Director Bill Hancock announced Tuesday afternoon.

They join Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith, who was added to the committee last week. All are set to begin their three-year terms this spring.

In addition, Hancock announced extensions for Kirby Hocutt and Bobby Johnson, whose terms were set to expire next month. Hocutt and Johnson had originally served incomplete two-year terms, having replaced Oliver Luck and Archie Manning respectively.

“Frank, Chris and Gene will each bring a wealth of knowledge to the selection committee,” Hancock said in a statement. “All three played college football. And they will continue the CFP tradition of committee members with high integrity and a passion for college football.

“We are also delighted that Kirby will return as chair,” Hancock went on. “He did a tremendous job of leading and facilitating the committee’s deliberations, and he was also an excellent representative with the media and public. Likewise, we are pleased that Bobby accepted our invitation to return. He is an excellent evaluator of teams and brings a valuable coach’s perspective.”