Feleipe Franks and Lamical Perine Named to the Maxwell Award watch list

The Maxwell Football Club announced its watch lists for the 83rd annual Maxwell Award and 25th annual Chuck Bednarik Award on Monday, as quarterback Feleipe Franks and running back Lamical Perine were named to the Maxwell Award watch list. The Maxwell Award has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937, while the Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Feleipe Franks started all 13 games at quarterback for the Gators, throwing for 2,457 yards with 24 touchdowns and just six interceptions on the season, while also totaling 350 rushing yards on 110 carries and tying a team-high seven rushing touchdowns. The Crawfordville, Fla. native led the Gators to a 10-3 record and No. 6 final ranking in the USA Today Coaches’ Poll, while becoming the first Florida quarterback since John Brantley (2010) to start every game throughout the entire season. Franks enters the 2019 season with a total of 3,895 passing yards for 33 touchdowns, 14 interceptions, and 370 rushing yards for seven touchdowns.

Lamical Perine appeared in all 13 contests and recorded one start last season, leading the team with 134 carries, 826 rushing yards and seven touchdowns. He additionally caught 13 passes for 170 yards and a touchdown, as he ranked first on the Gators in total yards (996) and second in scoring (48). Perine, a native of Mobile, Ala., was one of three players (Jordan Scarlett, Feleipe Franks) who scored at least five rushing touchdowns in 2018, marking the first time Florida has accomplished the feat since 2010. He enters his senior season with a total of 1,809 rushing yards for 16 touchdowns and 32 receptions for 412 yards and three touchdowns.